You can hear the whistle blow a hundred miles.

I made the mistake of answering the telephone the other day.

It was my sister and I hadn’t spoken to her in ages. I told her that I was planning to run my first 100 mile race soon. Then she told my mother.

My mother doesn’t like me to run long distances. It worries her. I don’t understand her worry, and she doesn’t understand why I’d want to run. So I prefer to present her with faits accompli rather than let her worry about what might happen.

But I didn’t tell my sister not to talk to my mother… so when I next called my parents my mother let me know she was unhappy.

“You are old,” said my mom, “And your legs are too slight
For any course over an hour;
Yet you’re running a race through the dead of the night—
Can you see why I’m acting so dour?”

And it’s true that in some sense I don’t know what I’m doing. I don’t know if I’ll be able to finish. But that’s why I choose this particular race, one consisting of 10 mile loops, so I’ll be back at the start and able to go home whenever I want… It’s also an easy course…

Perhaps I should have mentioned that to my mother, it might have made a difference, instead I just changed the subject when I could.

The first chunk of the race will be in the dark and cool. I view the cool part as an advantage. My mother might view the dark part as a disadvantage. So I didn’t mention that either.

I don’t know what I’m doing. Last year I did a 50K race on the same loops in 4:12:18 which was an 8:15 pace for 30 miles. How much slower should I go? I don’t know. I’m thinking to try averaging a 9~10 minute place (starting out at 9 and slowing as the race continues).

I don’t know what I’m doing.

But one never does the first time one tries to do something.

4 Responses to “You can hear the whistle blow a hundred miles.”

  1. Adger Williams Says:

    Sounds like a plan to me. Is this another of your solos in the dark, or is it an actual community event with other people?

  2. Adger Williams Says:

    Sounds like a perfect set up for an experiment to me. I suppose it might get a mite tedious the 10th time round the loop… Have a great time. (perhaps, that isn’t quite the right thing to say, given your probable likeness to a limp dishrag by the end, but have a good time anyway.)

Leave a Reply

