Grumble

My coach, Mike, told me to do 5 mile repeats tomorrow at a 6 minute pace with 90 seconds between them.

I worry about this (of course I always worry about track workouts).

Five years ago I could run a 10K at 6 minute pace. Now, I can’t. I doubt I could run a 5K at that pace, probably 6:05ish. I doubt if I can string five 6 minute miles together with just a 90 second rest.

Maybe on a track with lots of other people going the same pace. But I’ll be doing these alone and on the Wilcox. The Wilcox has rolling hills, sand traps, uneven footing. It’s not like running on a track, it’s much slower.

And there may be dogs loose.

Sheepherding dogs pay me little attention when I’m running at an 8 minute pace, but they get all excited when I go fast. They nip me. They try to make sure I stay with the rest of the flock (or at least the shepherd).

I don’t think I can do it. One probably and then I’ll get slower and slower…

Grumble.


5:53, 6:03, 6:02, 6:04, 6:11

Hunh. Not as bad as I expected. I didn’t fall apart until the last one. Maybe I’m just a worrywort. Maybe Mike knows what he’s doing.

2 Responses to “Grumble”

  1. Adger Says:

    Sheepdogs? Shepherds?

    • georgeruns Says:

      German shepherds are presumably sheepdogs, as are many other breeds. People without sheep keep them as pets, but the dogs still get excited if something moves away from them too fast. I presume they still feel they need to bring errant strays back to their owner (the figurative shepherd).

Leave a Reply

