World Masters’ Track Meet

I was thinking that this summer I should try to see what I could do in the 10K again. I lost some of this motivation when I ran Orchard to Ocean at more than 80% (Since I’ve never run at 81%, I sort of see 80% as my limit). Not all of my motivation, but some.

Rusty, of course, says I can do better.

Anyway the world masters’ track meet has been in the back of my mind ever since John B brought it to my attention. The good thing about the meet is that it is in Sacramento, and so close. The bad thing about the meet is that it is in Sacramento in July and so hot.

That pretty much sums things up.

I’m not a big fan of running on the track. Hated it in High School, never done it since. But they have a 10K. A 10K on the track. Never done one. That’s 25 laps. It’ll probably be dull. Wouldn’t I lose count? How embarrassing to stop after 24 laps…

A 10K on the track. Never done one. I could probably go faster than I could on the road. It might be interesting… you know… just to see what I could do…

There’s also a marathon. Now a marathon in Sacramento in July just seems silly.

Then of course there are my competitors. Each registrant puts down a time. I’ve not been able to find a definition of this time. Is it a time you have run in a recent race? Your best time ever? What you expect to run in Sacramento? The time your brother in law ran? When I first looked there were three people registered in my age group. One had posted a time of 31:57. Way out of my league. But the other two were much more comforting: 38:15 and 39:00. My 38:28 at Orchard to Ocean looked reasonable. Since then more people have registered. A 33, a 34, a 35 and another 39. I’m not going to win, but I probably won’t be last. I won’t be a ludicrous entrant.

I checked with Fred Mellon. He’s doing the 5K, not the 10K.

I’ll be 52. In the middle of my age group. This puts me at a disadvantage against 50 year-olds. I’ve gained about 20~30 seconds in the last 2 years. Of course, I’m at an unfair advantage against the 54 year olds…

Still it would be fun to be able to say that I competed at the world level. (And didn’t lose).

There’s still the worry about the heat.

They haven’t posted a schedule, and they won’t until after registration closes (I guess they won’t know how many heats they need until they find how many have registered, and so can’t schedule in advance). It’s annoying. If I knew the race would be at 4am I wouldn’t worry about the heat. If I knew it were at 2pm I wouldn’t bother registering. They do promise that the long distance events will be “in the morning.” What’s that mean? 6am? or 11am? If my race is divided into heats, I assume I shall be in the slowest. I assume the fastest runners will get to run when it’s coolest, and us slowpokes will run in the heat (we won’t be setting world records, so we don’t need the cool, at least that’s how I’d feel if I were race director).

Yesterday was foggy and cool. I was running with Mike Shalhoob and he was being encouraging (Mike is in his low 30s so not eligible as a master, Mike is also fast, so it’s kind of him to encourage). It was foggy and cool. July heat did not seem like such a bad idea.

I went home and signed up.

I can always change my mind later…

Leave a Reply

