Conversation about running

I was at the wedging table in my pottery class the other day, talking to a friend about running, when the woman across from me said she didn’t think people were designed to run.

I pointed out that, in fact, there was a fair amount of evidence that evolution had designed us to run rather than just walk.1 2 3 4 5

She responded by saying that maybe for skinny Africans, but Americans were too fat and out of shape.

I looked at her. And myself. I could think of no polite answer to that.

So I left her.

5 Responses to “Conversation about running”

  1. Tim Says:

    I didn’t know you were from Africa. 🙂

  2. Adger Says:

    Lieberman also did some work on the evolution of the larynx and its impact on the evolution of human speech. A very sophisticated guy.

  3. nichol Says:

    She probably was wedging her red clay on the white side too.

Leave a Reply

