Unexpected picture problems

I promised my parents to make copies of some of my Yellowstone pictures.

I took a series of Old Faithful erupting, and named the files based on eruption time, as:


Old_Faithful_T-45:00.jpeg
(45 minutes to eruption)

Old_Faithful_T.jpeg
(start of eruption)

Old_Faithful_T+2:23.jpeg
(two and a half minutes after)

I do my image manipulation in gimp, which runs on unix-like machines. The place I go to get the pictures printed uses macs. I had forgotten that the mac doesn’t allow a “:” in a filename (because 10 years ago the mac used “:” as a directory separator rather than “/”). The results was that none of my geyser pictures printed.

It’s a little frightening how something as silly as that can keep a picture from printing.

Leave a Reply

