Can’t sleep?

When you’re lying awake with a dismal headache
And repose is taboo’d by anxiety,
I conceive you may use any language you choose
To indulge in, without impropriety;

For your brain is on fire, the bed-clothes conspire
Of usual slumber to plunder you:
First your counter-pane goes, and uncovers your toes,
And your sheet slips demurely from under you;


The night has been long, ditto, ditto my song,
And thank goodness they’re both of them over!

Nightmare, Iolanthe, W.S. Gilbert

Well, Rusty fixed me up so I can run without fearing that I’m damaging myself. (It’s not everyone who knows what the obturator is, much less can imagine that it might pull the hip out of alignment and make the psoas hurt).

So I started to get exited. The half marathon mile markers have been repainted (oh boy!), and the sign is up warning the Mesa residents that a race is coming through (and me with it!).

I can’t sleep. I’m too excited. I lie there figuring instead.

Now last weekend we did 9 miles at just under 6:30 pace. Should not be too hard to do that for 13. But a 6:30 pace only gets me to an 85 minute half marathon.

What I’d really like is to break 83. That means running faster than 6:20s. Hmm. 6:20s have been feeling hard recently. Of course we’ve only done them at the end of an 8 mile tempo run, but a half marathon will be even worse. Now if my legs were rested, and I had a real taper, I’d give 6:20s a try, but the legs are tired. I get a teeny taper, but they’ll be tired for the race.

Which is rather the point, of this race after all.

Oh, I’ll probably run a few… down the hill from the mesa, that always invites them.

It’s not even 11 o’clock yet. Maybe if I turn over I’ll be more comfortable.

I do tend to go out to fast, up the hill. One year I was ahead of Annie at the one mile mark (ran up hill at a 6:05 pace or something). Not a good idea. Maybe tired legs will take care of that. Or even better, running with Chrystee…

Of course the real issue is the marathon.

I want to be at 2:55. That’s a 6:41 pace. But a 6:40 pace is a lot easier to calculate with. Now the big issue is the hill on Cliff. We ran up it last weekend and definitely slowed for the half mile of steep up. So even if I’m running 6:40s I’ll lose at least half a minute going up.

I can probably push the pace going up so I don’t lose too much (I’m better at hills than most), but that late in the race I’ll end up with nothing left when I get to the top, and there’s still another 2 miles to go. Late but not at the end. I’ve made that mistake before. Question is: how to recover that lost half minute, or maybe minute?

Damn. It’s too hot. I throw off a blanket.

Can I run 6:35 up to the bottom of Cliff? Or would that be too fast? Rusty told me he would comp me if I finished the race in under 2:50. He was joking, of course because there’s no way I’m going to be doing a marathon at 6:29 pace. Or I don’t think there is… It would be nice though… (Not to be comped, I don’t care about that, but to surprise Rusty (and me)). Nah. I’d burn up too soon trying.

Now it’s too cold. Where’s the blanket?

So going back to 6:40s… my! but that’s a nice number. It’s 400 seconds. So .2 miles works out to 80 seconds. Easy to calculate with. So at the top of Cliff —after the hill— when I hit the 24 mile mark I want to be um 2.2*6:40 = 13:20+1:20 = 14:40, so I want to be 2:55:00 – 14:40 or 2:40:20 into the race. If I can get up that hill and still be under 2:40 I should be ok for the last stretch…

6:40 really is a nice number. Three of them make 20 minutes. So 26.2 = 24+2.2=8*3+2.2=8*20+14:40=160+14:40=2:40:00+14:40 = 2:54:40.

Sigh. It’s 5am. I might as well get up…

Annie used to dream about giant birds carrying her off. I wish I had better dreams…

Leave a Reply

