GPS watch

I wondered how accurately my new GPS watch computed the altitude.

I started at the parking lot at Hendry’s beach. The watch was 3~4 feet above the ground which in turn was ~6ft above mean low water. Watch read 0ft.

I ran up to the Douglas family preserve (Wilcox property to some of us). I ran two loops. Now the Wilcox is fairly flat, it might go up or down a foot or three but there aren’t any major changes in elevation.

I went round twice. On the first lap the watch claimed I went between 196ft and 112ft. The second lap I went from 180ft to 108ft. The peaks and valleys of the two laps do not match.

I went back down to the parking lot. Now the watch read -32ft (before it read 0).

I went back up to the Wilcox, this time the watch claimed my altitude varied between 196ft and 96ft.

I went back down to the parking lot: -49ft. Off by about 60ft.

That’s pretty discouraging.

Leave a Reply

