Self-Confidence

Last year, for my birthday, Jim Sloan gave me Running through the Wall, a book about ultra-running. Each chapter is a description of an ultra, each written by a different runner.

I had already decided I wanted to do a 50 miler for my 50th birthday, and this book helped me get a feel for it.

One thing that came up frequently was how running (and finishing) an ultra was a transforming experience for the runner and provided him/her with new confidence in his/her own life. The general feeling was “If I can run an ultra, something obviously impossible, then I can do anything.”

More confidence certainly sounds appealing.

I’d like some.

So I finished my first ultra. I even came in second. I’m more confident that I’ll do well in my next ultra, but as for the rest of my life — I don’t see any connection.

Rats.

Maybe I need to run a 100 miler?

Leave a Reply

