End of an era

About 150 years ago my great-great-grandfather (George Walton Wiliams I) founded the Carolina Savings Bank. My grand-father was president. My father worked there. After the feds closed all the banks during the great depression, it was the first bank in South Carolina to reopen. It was bought, and that was bought, and eventually Wachovia bought it. Wachovia has failed today, and taken a bit of my family history with it.

One Response to “End of an era”

  1. jorge pizaqrro Says:

    I have a bond of the Carolina Savings Bank hand signed by Geo. W Williams as President issued to Joseph R Richardson on “this First day of May 1874. Please contact me.

    jorge

Leave a Reply

